Denslow headlines Zim BMX Wold Champs team

HELLENIC Primary School’s 10-year-old BMX protegee Matthew Denslow headlines a cast of former world champions that are currently in camp ahead of the 2013 UCI BMX World Championships in New Zealand. The BMX jamboree will be held in July in Auckland, popularly known as the “City of Sails” with Zimbabwe expected to be major contenders.

The Zimbabwe team has been training at Old Georgians Sports Club since February 1. Denslow will be looking to reciprocate an inspirational 2011 season that saw him claim number 1 spot at the international BMX championships at Copenhagen, Denmark.

Denslow in his Zimbabwe colors
Denslow in his Zimbabwe colors

The side also boasts of 2010 world number 1 in Chisipite Primary School’s Tyla-Shae Donaldson. Vainona High School’s Penias Tenthan who is vying for the junior elite class is another possible medal contender at the international BMX fiesta.

Zimbabwe’s preparations however have not been without their shortcomings. A number of riders from the first 28 member provisional side named by the Zimbabwe BMX Association last month have cited their unavailability to travel with the side. Top rider Tayne Turnock is one of the riders who will not travel to New Zealand as he has personal commitments to attend to. Despite the setback, BMX national team coach Tafi Machingaidze believes Zimbabwe has a host of other riders capable of challenging for number 1 spots in various classes.

“It’s quite a strong side and our chances of excelling in New Zealand are quite high. Last year (at the World Championships in England) we managed to have six finalists, that just shows our potential,” he said. “Matthew (Denslow) was unfortunate to experience a mechanical fault in the semi-finals. He definitely wants to get back to the top at this year’s championships,” Machingaidze added.

Zimbabwe BMX provisional team

Brett Collett, Nathan Horner, Greame Du Plooy, Ethan Ellse, Daniel Johnson, Jack Benning, Tino Machingauta, Andrew Chamunorwa, Dylan Prinsloo, Hana Taylor, Tyla-Shae Donaldson, Kirsten Du Plooy, Claudia Pietersen, Luke Doran, Chase Smyth, Brendan Mason, Daniel Van Rooyen Matthew Denslow, Jarod Ellse, Luka Drysdale, Andre Pretorius, Scott Donaldson, Penias Tenthani, Tawanda Marova, Andrew Manjira, Tatenda Malamba, Kurt Rietz.