Zimbabwe U13 Fall To Namibia

Zimbabwe under 13 fell to Namibia in the race for the title, “Africa’s second best rugby nation” as they lost 21-5 to a spirited Namibian side on Thursday afternoon

HSSM.CO.ZA Reported

The crowd at Warmbaths High got treated to an international clash with Namibia facing Zimbabwe in the last match of the day. After the national anthems were sung the boys got down to business. After a tight opening period, Namibia finally made their territory advantage count. Bernardt Wessels got the first try for Namibia. Riduan made no mistake in converting. Namibia took a 7-0 lead to the half time break. An early 2nd try for Namibia from Jayson Morkel putting his side further away from Zimbabwe. Renier Benade put the ball between the sticks to see Namibia go 14-0 up. Namibia now dominant, scored another try through Donovan Resandt, which Benade converted for 21-0 lead.. Zimabawe managed to get a consolation try as Milton Kachecha gave his side something to smile about. Namibia took a 21-5 victory as the final whistle sounded. – See more at: http://www.hssm.co.za/news/rugby/national/2013/day-3-u13-craven-week-roundup#sthash.Wn42cCS0.dpuf

Zimbabwe went on to play Free State this morning and they put on their best perfomance  at the tournament scoring three tries but failed to post a win in Bela Bela. Hilton Mambo was first on the scoreboard for the Zimbos before Mufaro Chareka and Tistan Evans ran in a try apiece with Justin Hammond converting Chareka’s try. Zimbabwe’s total of 17 was not enough to hold off Free State who weighed in with a total of 26.

The under 16 squad will be hoping to register a different set of results when they begin their Craven Week campaign on Monday next week.


ZIMBABWE : 1.Ronald Mirimi 2.Victor Matarise 3.Tinotenda Mwanza 4.Bradley Nenzou 5.Simon Sharwood 6.Tadiwa Nyagano 7.Sean Moyo 8.Milton Kachecha 9.Joshua Allardice 10.Tabonga Ngonyamo 11.Dustin Pike 12.Anotida Munyonga 13.Mufaro Chareka 14.Takunda Mkaratigwa 15.Hilton Mambo 16.Robert Jameson 17.Kumbi Nyevedzanai 18.Brandon Muvingi 19.Phillip Madzinga 20.Tistan Evans 21.Justin Hammond 22.Liam England

Image Credit: Luke Walker of Gallo Images