Namibia Edge Zimbabwe’s Innscor Young Sables

The battle for supremacy between Zimbabwe  rugby and Namibia rugby continued on July 4 at the Isak Steyl Stadium in Vanderbijlpark and Namibia prevailed, winning 33-22 but not without a glimmer of hope for the Zimbabweans.

First on the score board was Zimbabwe with a Michael Snook try that came in the second minute of the game. Campbill Nyakudya extended Zimbabwe’s lead with his conversion before Namibia opened their account in the ninth minute. Namibia went on to score two more tries with no response from Zimbabwe. Brian Muntanga went over the chalk for Zimbabwe’s second try but the conversion was wide. At the break Namibia was ahead with a score of 19-12.

Eager to increase their lead Namibia went for posts off four penalties in the second half with three of those true. This was the major difference between the two teams as Zimbabwe’s Takudzwa Gamanya went for posts only once adding three points to his team’s tally.

The game was within reach for the Innscor Young Sables in the 34th minute when Edwin Nxumalo scored Zimbabwe’s third try which Gamanya converted. At that moment the score board read, Zimbabwe 19 – 22 Namibia and Gamanya’s sole penalty kick in the second half altered the score board to read Zimbabwe 22-22 Namibia. It was Pieter Steenkamp’s boot that carried the day for Namibia as he slotted in two penalties to give his team a six point lead with only two minutes to play.

A converted try would have done it for the Zimbabwe under 17 side but it was not thier day as Shgyr Smith of Namibia ran in a late try that cushioned their lead as well as save them heartbreak.

Overall, the Innscor Young Sables played an interesting brand  of rugby and showed great determination all the way. It is unfortunate they only managed to win a game out of three at this year’s Grant Khomo week but here at we are proud of them and congratulate them on their good showing at the Isak Steyl Stadium in Vanderbijlpark, South Africa.

Zimbabwe U17 Rugby: 1.Michael Eric Snook 2.Jeff Tanatswa Makoni 3.Edwin Nxumalo 4.Nigel Nqobizitha Mpofu 5.Moses Gunda 6.Trent Alan Hill 7.Antoni Ciampi 8.Tinashe Wallace Muchena 9.Mark William Hulbert 10.Campbill Nyakudya 11.Takudzwa Gamanya 12.Sean Peter Edwards 13.Abel Masimba Goremusandu 14.Farai Murinye 15.Shaun Snyder 16.Tom Antony Stubbs 17.George John Divaris 18.Ackim Farirai Sibanda 19.Ropofadzo Jedidiah Gabriel Kwaramba 20.Ernest Mudzengerere 21.Cullum du Plessis 22.Brian Meleki Muntanga

[button color=”green” size=”medium” link=”” target=”blank” ]Craven Week Supporters Page[/button]