All-Harare Team For @lantic Sevens Tourney

An all-Harare squad has been named by the Zimbabwe Rugby Union for the upcoming @tlantic Sevens tournament in Pretoria, South Africa. The two-day rugby feast, running in its third year kicks off on Monday 23 September.

The 12-man squad which departs for Pretoria today – Sunday 22 September – is made up of boys from six schools, all from Harare. Prince Edward and St John’s College have two representatives in the team while St George’s and Vainona have one each. Churchill and Hellenic fill up the other six slots with each school being represented by three players.

Brandon Boshi
Brandon Boshi was also part of the U18 Craven Week side that went to Polokwane in July

We can only assume the technical team struggled to come up with this squad given the number of players or rather their parents who might have turned down national team call-ups due to exams looming. Another assumption is that players from outside the capital could not make it to the practise sessions and naturally could not put their hands up for selection.

Zimbabwe is placed in Pool A along with Boland, Free State and Golden Lions whom they will play on day one of the tournament. Day two fixtures will be dependent on day one results.

We at Frontrowzim, wish the boys well in Pretoria.

Image Credits: Luke Walker/Gallo Images

Player School
Takudzwa Mawarire Prince Edward (Mbare Academy)
Tinashe Masawi Vainona (Mbare Academy)
Sebastian Roche Hellenic
Callum Du Plessis Hellenic
Shepherd Mhembere Prince Edward
Shaun Coles St John’s
Kurt Burger St John’s
Brandon Boshi St George’s
Robin Chionyere Churchill
Tafadzwa Mukonyora Churchill
Zephaniah Nkomo Churchill
Craig Bare Hellenic