John’s, House and George’s Triumphant at Junior T20

Curtains came down on the St John’s College Junior T20 cricket in Harare on Sunday (October 27). The tournament which kicked-off on Friday featured teams from six schools – Peterhouse Boys, St John’s College, St George’s College, Falcon College, Prince Edward and Churchill School. Each school fielded three teams, one in each of the Under 14, Under 15 and Under 16 age groups.

Under 14

St George’s overcame Churchill in the fifth and sixth place play-off, winning by seven wickets. Next on the field was Falcon and Prince Edward with the former going down to the Harare school after being bowled out for 53. Prince Edward won by seven wickets. In the final, Peterhouse faced the hosts, St John’s and went down by 69 runs. Butler of St John’s College was awarded the best batsman award while Sithole of Prince Edward got the best bowler  award.

Under 15

Falcon and St George’s faced off in the fifth and sixth place play off with St George’s emerging 54 run victors over Falcon College. In the fourth and third place play-off, Churchill recorded a sweet victory over their bitter archrivals Prince Edward. The under 15’s final featured St John’s College and Peterhouse, this time around the Marondera-side commanded the game, registering a four-wicket win over the hosts. Zvidzai of Prince Edward won the best batsman award and the best bowler award was claimed by Madhombiro of Falcon College.

Under 16

The two rivals, Churchill and Prince Edward clashed again in the fifth and sixth place play-off with Churchill posting another victory to claim fifth place. Another St John’s College and Peterhouse match was on the cards as the two teams met again in the fourth and third place play-off, the hosts getting the better of their opponents with an eight wicket win. The two finalists were Falcon College and St George’s College. Falcon took to the field in the second innings wanting to defend their 122 total and did a good job of it, holding on until the fifth ball of the last over which granted St George’s College a  four wicket win. Sargeant of Falcon College took the best bowler award and Balfour picked up the best batsman award.