Chisipite Retain Brooker Trophy

Chisipite posted a huge 4-0 victory over Arundel on Thursday afternoon to claim the Brooker Trophy for the second year in a row.

The Brooker Trophy was donated by a Chisipite couple in 1990, and since 1991 the two girls schools – Arundel and Chisipite – face off in an annual match with the trophy as the prize.

Arundel last won the trophy in 2012 and Chisipite won it in 2013. A clinical performance in front of Arundel filled stands at the Arundel School turf saw the girls from Hindhead Avenue claim it for the second year running.

Chelsea Dollar opened the scoring for Chisipite before Beth McGaw, Michelle Warikandwa and Rachel Hullet confirmed the victory with one goal each.

The closest that Arundel came to scoring was four minutes before full time when Mufaro Hungwe dribbled her way past Chisipite’s defenders, but was unlucky to be stopped dead by goalie Gemma Bruk-Jackson.

Arundel’s standout player was goalie Varaidzo Kamhunga, who mimicked the heroics of ┬áTim Howard, as she saved her team a drastic loss on home turf.

The Brooker Trophy on the turf
The Brooker Trophy on the turf