St Andrew’s Crowned Smashing Cricket Champions

After three days of cricket action at St George’s College, only two teams remained in the hunt for glory at the Smashing Cricket Tournament. St John’s College and St Andrew’s (SA) have undoubtedly been the strongest teams throughout the pool and knock-out stages of the tournament.

After winning the toss, St John’s captain, Gary King chose to bat first expecting the ball to turn later on in the day. Both captains believed that 150 would be a competitive total on the pitch. Nothing less than a fearsome encounter was expected from the final.

St John’s, who previously scored the highest total in the tournament, a monumental 266 were looking for a fast start, but the loss of three wickets within six overs reduced the boys from Harare to 36/3. St John’s were unable to put together a meaningful partnership, but a well-structured innings from Shane Snater (66) ensured St John’ posted a defend-able 157/7.

The opening partnership for St Andrew’s was a significant one, but three quick wickets after a short boundary drought had St Andrew’s lingering at 94/3 after 11 overs.


The match stayed in the balance until the last over with St Andrew’s needing eight off six balls. A powerful straight drive to the boundary secured a famous victory for St Andrew’s, the 2014 St George’s Smashing Cricket champions!