Chisipite Senior Reclaims 52 Year-Old Melbury Cup

Hosts Chisipite Senior School beat Hellenic Academy on their home courts in a 10-9 tightly-contested set of final matches yesterday (11 October 2015) to win the Melbury Cup Tennis Tournament.  The matched ended tied at 4-4 games, and only a count back on the number if sets was able to separate the two teams, with Chisipite awarded the win based on the count back.

Chisipite worked hard throughout the stages to bring the cup back to their school, after winning it in 2013 and missing the finals last year. Last year’s winners, Arundel finished third this year putting off Convent in the third and fourth place play-off.  This year Arundel B won the B league, beating Chisipite B in the final 4-3.

Melbury Cup 2015 Champions - Chisipite Senior School
Melbury Cup 2015 Champions – Chisipite Senior School

The Melbury Tennis Cup was first presented in 1963 by Mrs Dowdeswell for competition by the girls’ schools, but the competition now includes girls’ teams from co-educational schools as well. Girls High won the first four contests from 1963-1966 before Arundel School claimed the trophy in 1967 and 1968. That win for Arundel would be their last until 2014 when they claimed the cup again.

Other schools that have had their names engraved on the Melbury Cup include Oriel Girls High, Dominican Convent Harare, Queen Elizabeth School, Peterhouse Girls and Mount Pleasant High School. Chisipite did not win the cup until 1984, but have gone on to claim it a record 23 times, including their latest win from Sunday.