Hellenic and Falcon Star In Selection Weekend

In the wake of the Accorsi Cup, Crusaders’ Shield and Players Cup in the past few weeks, this weekend the younger Form 1 and 2 students took their turn at being in the water polo limelight at two tournaments which were also national selection events.

Hellenic Academy defeated St John’s College in the final to win the U14 Cup, which they hosted in Harare.  CBC beat out rivals Falcon to earn the third berth.  St George’s were in fifth place.  Five Hellenic players were chosen for the national side, including Zach Birikn, who was Player of the Tournament.  Three Falcon boys, two from CBC and one each from St John’s and St George’s round off the U14 squad.

One year group up, Falcon beat St John’s in the final win the U15 Todd Trophy, adding the silverware to the Accorsi Cup and Crusaders’ Shield, already in their Esigodini cabinet.  CBC beat Hellenic to earn the bronze.  St George’s finished fifth in the tournament, with Peterhouse 6th and a developing Prince Edward side in 7th. The resultant U15 national team includes six players from St John’s College, three from Falcon, two from CBC and one from Hellenic.

Zimbabwe U14 Boys Water Polo

Zimbabwe U15 Boys Water Polo

A. Strong – Hellenic E. Donaldson – Falcon
M. Hodgson – Hellenic F. Muller – Falcon
J. Benning – Hellenic
T. O’Hara – Falcon
A. Picci – Hellenic
G. Smith – St John’s
T. Cornish – Hellenic
M. Musamba – St John’s
J. McKonie – CBC C. Onorati – St John’s
D. Cyprianos – CBC
N. Balfour – St John’s
A. Van Wyk – Falcon
L. Annandale – St John’s
T. Cooke – Falcon
E. Nesbit – CBC
 T. Masvikeni – St George’s J. Cawood – St Johns
R. Karimazondo – St John’s
K. Shaw – Hellenic
J. Pieters – Falcon L. Jones – CBC
*L. Turley – St John’s *Smith – CBC
*T. Martin – Hellenic *Campbell-Sparrow – Falcon

*non-travelling reserve