Old Mutual U13 Young Sables Emulate Big Brothers In Paarl

The Old Mutual U13 Young Sables followed in their older brothers’ footsteps this morning registering a much deserved 12-6 win over Border CD at the ongoing U13 Coca-Cola Craven Week at Paarl Gymnasium.

Cold and wet weather threatened to undo Zimbabwe’s efforts in the first half of the encounter, but the Young Sables response to the Border CD assault was nothing short of impressive. Although Zimbabwe struggled with attack in the opening stanza, fumbling the ball behind the gain line on a number of occasions, Skipper Tawanda Matipano and flyhalf Tapiwa Hungwe did a good job with kicks out of hand.

Border CD got on the scoreboard first, earning three points off a penalty well taken by Ncema Nyabaza with six minutes left to play in the first half. Hunter Chiutsi found himself at the end of a well-worked move in midfield of a Zimbabwe scrum, and he finished well to put Zimbabwe in the lead. Matipano added the extras to take Zimbabwe to the half leading 7-3.

Tadiwa Kavhura
Tadiwa Kavhura(Maranatha) heads for the try line leaving defenders in his wake Copyright Chenje Katanda/SSN.CO.ZW

The Old Mutual Young Sables came back from the break with more vigour and camped in Border CD’s 22 for most of the half, but they failed to convert. Another well-struck penalty in front of the posts gave Border CD three more points to bring the scoreboard up to 7-6. Running out wide, speedster Tadiwanashe Kavhura broke five tackles on his way to secure Zimbabwe’s victory¬†just three minutes before stoppage.

Today’s victory was timely and brought much needed morale in the Young Sables camp ahead of their Namibia clash set for later this week.

Old Mutual U13 Young Sables  2016
Cedric Masiiwa, Oliver Patterson, Daniel Mazorodze, Tanaka Ndoro, Alex Nyamunda, Takudzwa Zvomuya, Mwaita Makanza, Nkosana Sikala, Panashe Zuze, Tapiwanashe Hungwe, Rly Nyakura, Giles Munyamana, Munotida Marimirofa, Hunter Chiutsi, Tawanda Matipano, Tavonga Tawonezvi, Orlando Venn, David Jnr Yosa, Hopemore Manyoporo, Taonaishe Mapani, Brendon Marume, Tadiwanashe Kavhura, Alexander Whitfield